Spike TV Announces Nominees for 2010 ‘Scream Awards’, Vote Now!


Spike TV has announced its nominees for the 5th annual Scream Awards, to be held on Oct. 16 at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles. The ceremony celebrates the best in horror, sci-fi, and fantasy released between July 16, 2009 and July 16, 2010. Along with conventional categories such as Best Horror Film and Best Villain, the show also honors the year’s Most Memorable Mutilation, Best Fight, and Holy Shit! Scene.

Films nominated this year include Inception, Avatar, Predators, A Nightmare on Elm Street, Paranormal Activity, District 9, The Crazies, Kick Ass, and Zombieland. TV noms went to “LOST,” “True Blood,” “Dexter,” “Dr. Who,” and “V.”

Best Horror Actress noms went to Julie Benz for “Dexter,” Emily Blunt for The Wolfman, Emma Stone for Zombieland, Milla Jovovich for The Fourth Kind, Charlotte Gainsbourg  for Antichrist, and Anna Paquin for “True Blood.”


The Best Villain category holds some of the year’s most memorable performances. The nominees include Oscar-winning actor Jackie Earle Haley as Freddy Kruger, Emmy-winner John Lithgow as the Trinity Killer on “Dexter,” Mickey Rourke as Whiplash in Iron Man 2, Stephen Lang as Col. Miles Quaritch in Avatar, Emmy-winner Terry O’Quinn as John Locke/Smoke Monster on “LOST,” and Dieter Laser as Dr. Joseph Heiter in the year’s most outrageous film The Human Centipede.

The nominees were chosen by an advisory board that included such noted genre figures as Wes Craven, Ridley Scott, John Carpenter, Tim Burton, Quentin Tarantino, Damon Lindelof, Joss Whedon, and Eli Roth.

Fans can vote on all 30 categories by visiting SpikeTV.com. Voting will be open up until Oct. 15.

The Crazies

Spike TV will air The 5th Annual Scream Awards on October 19 (9:00–11:00 PM, ET/PT).

No Comment.

Add Your Comment